2007 Evinrude gearbox

Im pretty sure my gearbox shit itself today and as I have no mechanical knowledge whatsoever, I'm hoping someone a bit more mechanically inclined might be able to help me out with what the problem may be. All I can come up with is it's rooted.

Gearbox has been clicking for a while when engaging drive but today it went full retard -grinding hard and wouldn't engage until almost full throttle. Thought I would be able to see the day out but after a few more times of stop starting and struggling to engage drive, I started to smell burning oil so packed up shop and came home. Side note: doesn't grind while engaging reverse.

Im hoping someone might be able to tell me by the above if I require a full gearbox rebuild or if it seems as though it may just be bearings or gears. Any help appreciated. 

opsrey's picture

Date Joined: 05/10/07

Strip down will tell the story.

Sat, 2017-01-28 18:20

heck there must have been some noise while waiting until full throttle for forward engagement .

Date Joined: 13/11/11

Yep sure was - sounded like

Sat, 2017-01-28 18:34

Yep sure was - sounded like it was gonna throw its guts up. I probably felt about the same listening to it.

Date Joined: 09/03/13

I'm certainly no gearbox guru

Sat, 2017-01-28 18:25

prob first test is to undo the (just crack and let seep out) the gear oil drain plug will be an allen key on Evinrude....very slightly and look at a couple of oil drops to see if it is a "oil" colour or "cream" consistency. this will tell you if there has been water ingress

Date Joined: 13/11/11

What will water in the oil

Sat, 2017-01-28 18:38

What will water in the oil mean in regards to the gearbox? Apart from the obvious expletives and rooted seals. 

Date Joined: 15/01/10

Gears

Sat, 2017-01-28 19:00

sounds like the teeth on the gear is kaput. I would think full rebuild.

null

Date Joined: 18/01/12

not the teeth, the dogs that

Sat, 2017-01-28 20:23

not the teeth, the dogs that engage.