Gibb River Road Trip July 2023

Seeing if anyone can give any tips, pointers etc on the Gibb 

Been lucky enough to find myself a decent off road caravan so we have been planning a gibb river road trip in July. Im not a novice by any means with 4 wheel driving and camping and we did the Gibb back in 2014 but with a 2 man tent but this time I will be going all the way up to Kalumbaru. I will have the caravan, roof topper with 15hp engine so hoping to get out off Kalumburu. There will be another family coming with us too.

Anyway, hoping the helpful people off here could possibly give me some tips, pointers etc fishing along the Gibb. I would really like to catch Cherabin along the gibb, mud crabs at Kalumburu and hopefully get out for a fish or 2 at Kalumburu as well. Any tips in doing this would be great!!!

Also heading up to Cape Lavique for 3 nights as well so once again tips on getting muddies up there would be appreciated

Cheers

Pig

I go boating not fishing

Date Joined: 21/05/12

1 st rule - look out for flat

Wed, 2023-06-07 14:20

1 st rule - look out for flat dogs, especially where u launch and retrieve. 

2nd check your tides, u can get caught out where u have to sleep in the dinghy cause u cant get over the bar or the river just drops out

3rd drink and keep plenty of water and sun mitigating factors on the boat, i even take up those isotonic rehydrating powders and we have a policy of 250 ml every 30 mins if in full sun in the dry

4th  if it is fresh water and even if u are 20km inland there can still be flat dogs around

Plan on losing a few pots to the flat dogs. tie your pot ropes up high in the tree, if new ground i even mark the spot with a bit of dunny paper in the mangrove branches - the place when the tide is 5m up or down looks completely different