Gillies Ocktapus Jig 150g

Im new to jigging and have seen all the posts that have appeared lately with the big arse dhueys and snapper with jigs hanging out of their mouths. I notice that no one seems to use the octopus shaped jigs - are they any good, just interested to know as it was the first jig i bought at BCF when I decided to do a bit of jigging. So far ive only used the long metal fish shaped jigs and done good on sambo's out at the barges. So what about the octo jigs are they ok for demersals or not the jig of choice for dhueys or snapper?   

cudbfishn's picture

Date Joined: 06/04/09

Ive used them with success

Wed, 2013-08-07 16:18

Ive used them with success but I would prefer a pirate style over the octojigs, and a large plastic over both. But you cant beat the metal jigs once you technique/confidence gets better.

Auslobster's picture

Date Joined: 03/05/08

If you have a good baldie spot....

Wed, 2013-08-07 17:09

...the octos are deadly, just leave it hanging above the bottom and the boat movement does all the work. And my experience has shown the Gillies version to be the cheapest and most effective....the Lucanus and Bay Rubbers will get fish also, but are dearer...

dumper's picture

Date Joined: 03/04/08

+1 way better than the

Thu, 2013-08-08 10:31

+1 way better than the lucanus jigs

dkonig82's picture

Date Joined: 06/07/10

I personally have never seen

Thu, 2013-08-08 09:56

I personally have never seen one catch a fish that was worth catching, but others have.

Lucanus I have seen catch a few decent fish though

When asked by a non-fisherman 'how many fishing rods do you really need?' the correct answer is either:

n+1 (where n is the number of fishing rods you currently own); or

n-1 (where n is the number of fishing rods which would cause your significant other to dump you. 

Habanero's picture

Date Joined: 19/06/12

Ditto

Thu, 2013-08-08 17:23