Suzuki DF90-115-140 exhaust issue

I love the Suzis on my boat, reliable smooth quiet despite pushing up to 600hrs. Ive serviced them religeously and checked compresssions etc.

But a couple of months ago while googling some service info for my pair of DF115's, I was pretty suprised to come across this

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boating-forum/395845-suzuki-df140-engine-holder-corrosion-fix.html

and ALOT of other similar threads from both US and Aus. I hadnt heard about this before and was pretty suprised, but given the sort of use my boat gets (remote long trips with the kids etc) and being an engineer I decided to bit the bullet and have a look.

NOTE-the pics below that have a corrosion hole were borrowed off another website-the repair ones are mine.

Mine had plenty of meat there in both engines

Basically Suzuki designed the DF90/115/140 to have an O2 sensor fitted in the exhaust/engine holder casting but must have decided at the time it wasnt required. The hole was removed completely from these outboards around 2007 so is only an issue up to that date.

Interestingly the new "Lean Burn" Suzukis, is really just the addition of an O2 sensor (experts correct if Im wrong!)

One of the rare less smart Japs at the factory then decided to use up the seacontainer load of mild steel plugs to fill the hole.

The combination of hot exhaust gases, salt water and galvanic reaction then proceeds to corrode away the engine holder until it blows thru and burns the wiring loom which runs past that point. This brings up a 3:2 alarm code

I believe a faulty thermostat (causing cold combustion) increases the acidity of the exhaust gases also.

Anyhow, I found a mob in the US who makes aluminium plugs specifically to replace these and at about $15 each plus $10 post they were on my doorstep in 10 days.

I also ordered magnetic drain plugs for the gearboxes (should be standard in any machinery).