Leeder 710 5.7L stern-drive threads please

Hi Guys its a 31 degree Winter's day here in Karratha.

I'm a Newbie to posting so please accept my apology in advance, searched the forum's but got weird results - like my search item inserted in all random posts?

Just picked up a Leeder 710 Deluxe '96 model Carby 5.7L Alpha One leg.

Can you tag me in existing site posts that discuss solutions to:

1. Mystery electrical fault that sees the engine running fine then (550 genuine hrs) stop randomly but will restart almost straight away?

1b. Service intervals must do vs can do.

2. Leeder specific prop/pitch/blade# thread for the Alpha One leg.

3. Leeder tips and tricks for weekly running.

Thanks guys much appreciated.

Pilbara WA

freo fatboy's picture

Date Joined: 16/10/11

Mercruiser 5.7L knocking/Pinging/detonation Probs continue.

Sat, 2014-12-27 08:22

Hi Guys

Had one pm reply to this thread (thx B&T) and am hoping someone may have found the answer to my issue number 1 above as all the others are sorted.

Update:  Have had a marine mechanic working on this #1 issue for the last 4 months on and off and still experiencing totally random breakdowns where the chev 5.7litre sounds like its pinging/detonating and engine won't stop when the ignition key is turned off.  Several backfires and shudders later after it finally stops it will start fine and keep going faultlessly.  Some trips it does it others not at all.  All different throttle settings and fuel levels and seas.

So far the mechanic (top bloke) has replaced with genuine mercruiser parts ~$1500 incl labor:

Ignition Coil

Knock sensor

Knock sensor module

Dizzy cap and rotor kit and sensor

SS Marine spark plugs

Ignition key switch assembly

tuning and timing etc

He doesn't seem to think it is the electrnic ignition module (thunderbolt), but says we should replace that next ($800 + labor):)

Cheers heaps for any leads or past experiences at all.

James - Dampier

Pilbara WA

Date Joined: 29/03/10