Fcv588 and TM260 Help

 Hi,

I'm chasing any help/advice I can get with my sounder set up. It seems to read fine in shallow water 30-60m and at speed too. 

When I push out into deeper water the HF can still get an image, all be it weak, but I get no image at all on the LF. 

I've attached an image I took recently down off the south coast. Half of it is missing as I was trying to see if LF would work.

I'm not sure if it's the settings on the sounder, the transducer selection (1kw transducer selected), or the angle of the trans. The trans has a slight forward lean as instructed in the installation instructions. But my boat is fairly stern heavy and I'm not sure if this could accentuate the angle enough to through out the trans signal.

I'm away at work at the moment so I'll try add a few extra photos soon.

Cheers in advance.

 

Image Upload: 

Bucko's picture

Posts: 114

Date Joined: 08/05/10

Well, somethings not right

Mon, 2017-05-22 09:11

Well, somethings not right there then.

What transducer have you got selected?

I have a 587 and TM260, works mint.

I have selected the following transducer:

526TID-HDD

Try that, should work better. In 100m, should be OK on Auto gain, won't need to crank to 7.2.

I have my pic advance on 2:1, and try bottom lock rather than bottom zoom.

Aquadisiac's picture

Posts: 17

Date Joined: 21/05/17

 Cheers. I've selected the

Mon, 2017-05-22 11:58

 Cheers. I've selected the 1kw transducer on the unit. I'll try changing it and see if that makes any difference.

bouttime's picture

Posts: 697

Date Joined: 27/07/06

See if you can get a pic of

Mon, 2017-05-22 11:14

See if you can get a pic of your transducer location. This could be the problem. A lot of guys I know have moved the transducer closer to the engine and lower in the water and have been seeing good results. Very frustrating but when you get it right will read the bottom at speed on low freq no worries

Aquadisiac's picture

Posts: 17

Date Joined: 21/05/17

  Hi, thanks for the

Mon, 2017-05-22 12:31

 

 Hi, thanks for the reply.

I've added a few pics to the original post (Not great, had to get the gf to take them for me), but hopefully they'll help.

 

Bucko's picture

Posts: 114

Date Joined: 08/05/10

Really hard to tell from

Mon, 2017-05-22 13:12

Really hard to tell from those pics.

In any case, if it does not work while you are not moving, its not the transducer placement.

Is this only a problem when on the move?

Aquadisiac's picture

Posts: 17

Date Joined: 21/05/17

 Nah I can't get a picture at

Mon, 2017-05-22 13:30

 Nah I can't get a picture at stop either. And only really appears to be happening in LF which I why I'm hoping its a setting I've somehow missed.

Bucko's picture

Posts: 114

Date Joined: 08/05/10

Not just low freq, that

Mon, 2017-05-22 14:17

Not just low freq, that picture in 100m is crap, should be heaps stronger return at 7.2 gain.

Something not right.

Posts: 50

Date Joined: 13/02/17

Bucko

Mon, 2017-05-22 20:08

Sorry Bucko if this sounds me stupid , i have the same problem as Aquadisiac with deep water 200m+ only difference is mines a bit older unit being the 585 with a tm260.

When you say select the follow transducer 526tid-hdd are you meaning in the settings or is that when you buy it select that style?

Maybe the next models up are a bit different but i can only select 600w or 1kw transducer in my settings im thinking am i missing something.

 

Bucko's picture

Posts: 114

Date Joined: 08/05/10

Alpha, Yes, I mean select

Tue, 2017-05-23 09:46

Alpha,

Yes, I mean select that transducer from the list in the settings.

Your unit is older than mine, but I believe there was a software update that fixes this issue. Don't quote me on it, was a while ago. As far as I know, you can't update the unit, it has to be done by a dealer.

You should be able to get bottom out to 500m no worries (at very low speed mind you)

Aquadisiac's picture

Posts: 17

Date Joined: 21/05/17

 Great sounder shots! That's

Tue, 2017-05-23 12:37

 Great sounder shots! That's what I'm trying to achieve haha

 

Posts: 50

Date Joined: 13/02/17

That's aswome

Tue, 2017-05-23 17:41

Yer good shots Bucko. I'm sure the 585 doesn't have that setting I'm going out to power it up now and find out. If not I'm of to a dealer to find out about the up date. Cheers for the shots. 

Posts: 38

Date Joined: 28/05/08

 Hey mate,I do alot of

Sat, 2017-05-27 10:31

 Hey mate,

I do alot of fishing deep with the same set up as you, i have the 1kw transducer selected so i doubt thats your problem, perhaps you have got a dodgy transducer? I crank my gain up in the settings once i am over 250ms to +15 and run low frequency in anything over 100ms also chance the TVG to high in over 250ms. I cant work out how to post a pic off my phone on here but i will try and get one up for you.