Will a Spheros 12000Fa work for slide fishing.

Hello people,

I am quite new to beach fishing and have only been going since i moved to Denmark 3 months ago. I have also been reading post about slide fishing, which sounds quite fun. I am thinking about buying a posideon 5 piece or some thing similar and getting started. I have a Spheros 12000Fa and I was just wondering if it would do the job for a while? Or will i need a new reel for slide fishing?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers Chipper.

Date Joined: 11/06/07

don't see why not

Mon, 2014-03-24 10:37

I have the 12000 with an upgraded carbontex drag washer and it pulls great. Your other option would be to give overhead reels a go. Would probably use mono over braid for slide fishing but I'm no expert. There's a large tackle shop in Albany that may be able to help you -?Trailblazers. There are salmon in Denmark at the moment. Good luck.

Fishin for a feed and fun.

Date Joined: 11/08/13

Cheers Wahoo,I never thought

Mon, 2014-03-24 10:59

Cheers Wahoo,

I never thought about upgrading the reel. I was going to go braid with a mono topshot as they suggest, but i am unsure if the spool will hold enough line? I have been looking at the overheads but never used one. Are they much different to use? Been looking at the Torium 30.

I have been to trailblazers a few times, so will ask next time I am over that way. Your spot on about the salmon down here, I was fishing on the rocks at ocean beach and the was a school of the them about 15 meters wide cruising around. I only had time to hook one 5.4kg salmon before i had to get home so the wife could go to work. A bit of a piss off really!

Cheers Chipper

snapper's picture

Date Joined: 09/02/08

using slidees

Mon, 2014-03-24 14:20